Islands in the Stream

Music, books, movies, TV, games, hobbies, food, and potent potables. And forum games! Pour a drink, put on your smoking jacket, light a pipe (of whatever), and settle in.
Hugh Akston

Islands in the Stream

Post by Hugh Akston » 14 Mar 2017, 14:36

A thread for music discovery and streaming services.

What are y'alls experiences with Spotify vs Pandora? I have been using Pandora for probably seven years now and it is still my primary source for new music. I gave Spotify a shot last year, but found it really wasn't very good at recommending new songs based on the stuff I already liked, which is weird because it has a complete record of my iTunes library, which Pandora doesn't. But I sort of get the impression from people who use and love Spotify that music discovery isn't really its primary function.

Also, flush the inevitable earworm here.
"Is a Lulztopia the best we can hope for?!?" ~Taktix®
"Inexplicably cockfighting monsters that live in your pants" ~Jadagul

nicole

Re: Islands in the Stream

Post by nicole » 14 Mar 2017, 15:01

I've been using Pandora for 12-13 years and love it. I have and do use it for music discovery, though primarily for classical music discovery. I'm even thinking about subscribing to the pay service they're launching this week.

Spotify blows. It always seems like people were like, what if we remade Pandora but without the music genome project and with other people's bad taste instead? Which why would you want to do that. I also have problems signing in on my mobile app almost every time I try to use it.
"Fucking qualia." -Hugh Akston

"This is why I carry a shoehorn.” -jadagul

Highway

Post by Highway » 14 Mar 2017, 15:09